Kings Crossing Spring Shootout – April 5, 2014
TRC and MTRA Approved!

Click on the image below for more details or visit the Approved Ropings page!

Spring Shootout 2014



Welcome to the new roping season!  Hope everyone has kept warm this winter.  We had another successful roping finals and would like to thank everyone who helped out and sponsored our event. Our 2014 finals have been tentatively booked for the end of September at the Keystone Centre.  We are planning for a spring AGM due to unforeseen circumstances this past roping season and are very sorry for any inconvenience caused by the delay of processing Fall roping jackpots.  Keep checking the website for upcoming details and changes.  The first approved roping for 2014 has been recently posted and will be held at Kings Crossing on February 15.

     Mike Leepart





The M.T.R.A was established in 1975 and has seen many different walks of life from ranchers & business men to nurses and dentists compete in the association.

Team roping also known as heading and heeling is an event that features a steer (typically a Corriente) and two mounted riders. The first roper is referred to as the “header,” the person who ropes the front of the steer, usually around the horns, but it is also legal for the rope to go around the neck, or go around one horn and the nose resulting in what they call a “half head,” the second is the “heeler,” who ropes the steer by its hind feet, with a five second penalty assessed to the end time if only one leg is caught.

The Manitoba Team Roping association uses numbered ropings to allow competitors of any ability to successfully have a chance to win.

Comments are closed.